Derby Girl at Heart

So, I am literally Fresh Meat… but hopefully not much longer! My Min Skills test is coming up this week, and as some of the Dolls have already mentioned, this will be my first step to becoming a real derby girl.

I have known that that is exactly what I want to be for about 5 or 6 years now, ever since I watched the show “Roller Girls” about the roller girls in Austin, Texas. I’m not sure exactly what drew me to it, whether it was the competitiveness, the comradery, the empowerment, the names, the outfits, or most likely a combination of these and more, but I was sold. I had spoken of wanting to do this for years, and when a friend of mine saw a Facebook page for the Capital City Derby Dolls, I thought maybe my dream could come true.

It was when I left my first Fresh Meat practice, when I could not quell my excitement, that I knew my dream was coming true. That was a few months ago, and I still leave every practice with a huge grin on my face, no matter how many sore muscles and bruises I leave with. I have been a derby girl at heart ever since I learned of the sport, and I can’t wait to be a full-fledged roller-skating, hit-taking, butt-kicking derby girl for the Capital City Derby Dolls!

Thanks to my coaches, and I hope to do you proud this weekend!

Violently Jill

Leave a Reply

