Player Profile: Buffy Slay’her

Derby Name: Buffy Slay’her

Number: 97

19864857268_f1dc377f3e_b

 Is there any significance in your name?

I have been a huge fan of Buffy the Vampire Slayer since I was a teenager. As I grew up watching the episodes and reading the books and comics, I saw so much of myself in all of the characters. When I found out that I got to pick my own alter-ego for derby, it was a no brainer to pay tribute to my favourite slayer. Also, I’ve been told that I’m kind of buff.

Which teams do you play for?

I am the captain of my house league team, the Bacon Pirates, and co-captain of CCDD’s WFTDA charter team, the Dolly Rogers.

Do you have any favourite positions?

When I first started playing derby, I jammed and blocked equally because I wanted to learn EVERYTHING! However, my skillset was really geared toward blocking so I’ve spent the last two seasons refining those skills. Now, I love playing as pivot because I can be a powerful blocking machine and still occasionally put those jamming skills to good use.

When did you start playing?

It sounds cliché but my interest in derby started in 2010 after I watched Whip It. I saw that movie and wondered “is this a real thing?” After a lot of Google-ing I found out that (yes!) it was a real thing and (awesome!) that it was happening here in Ottawa. It took me almost two years to actually get out to watch a bout, but when I finally did I instantly knew that I needed this sport in my life.

Why?

I had always played team sports (soccer, rowing, field hockey, and rugby) but when I saw my first derby bout, I had shifted to rock climbing/bouldering and had been competing in that for several years. Participating in a mostly solo sport, I was really missing that feeling of being part of a team. When I watched that first bout, not only was I blown away by the athleticism of roller derby, but I was completely drawn in by the comradery that I saw.

Were you scared?

Incredibly! At age 27 I was anxious that I was too old to start playing such a demanding sport, especially one that I had never played and barely understood. Also, I hadn’t skated since I was a kid! But as soon as I put on my skates for the first time, all of that anxiety went away. For me, it was love at first practice.

Do you have a favourite personal moment?

I try to stay humble, but anytime that I’ve been recognized for an outstanding performance by being awarded game MVP or team MVP has felt really special. If I had to narrow it down though, I’d say it’s a two-parter: the Dolly Rogers winning their first WFTDA sanctioned game this past February and me being named MVP blocker for that game.

Finally, what keeps you playing derby?

I may have always been active, but roller derby has made me an athlete. I’m entering my fourth season and already I’ve seen gameplay change and evolve so much. My teammates and I constantly have to challenge ourselves at practice and in our training in order to meet the growing level of competition. It is an incredibly addictive challenge!

Come see BUFFY in action this Sunday: https://www.facebook.com/events/983000341777212/

You can help the Dolly Rogers pursue their goals of shattering the Canadian roller derby scene by making a donation here: https://www.gofundme.com/dollyrogers. Buffy thanks you big time.

2 thoughts on “Player Profile: Buffy Slay’her

  1. marion ford says:

    Heather (Buffy Slayher) is a gifted, committed athlete that you want on your team.

  2. Cheryl says:

    Very proud to know this beautiful young woman and her family.

Leave a Reply

