PLAYER PROFILE: TANK

tank 1

Tank is a tremendous asset as a player and as a league member. A fierce competitor and a “roll” model athlete, Tank makes people want to be better. To support Tank’s journey as a Dolly Roger, please visit the Dolly Rogers’ gofundme page or keep an eye on the team’s schedule this season. Coming out to games is the best support we could ask for!

Name and number: Tank, 7

Why: During fresh meat and my first few Dolly Roger’s practices I wore this

ridiculous Boeri ski helmet from the 80s. Whips and Chaynes said I looked like Tank

Girl and it stuck. I loved the idea of being given a name rather than choosing one.

Likes: hummus, proving that size doesn’t matter, post game beer, anything agility

Dislikes: going slow, Chinese food

Why did you join roller derby: I grew up playing competitive soccer and hockey

from an early age and was fortunate enough to receive a scholarship to boarding

school in Connecticut to finish high school and play sports. I really knew little else

but team life, camaraderie, training, and hard work until I said goodbye to team

sports after a year of lacrosse in college. Ten years and many miles travelled later, I

found myself back in Ottawa itching to be part of a team again and wanting a new

challenge. My wife encouraged me to give it a try and I can still remember grinning

like crazy at that Open House four years ago when I was skating around. I had found

just what I was looking for. It felt amazingly familiar yet new and exciting and

everyone was ridiculously welcoming.

How do you train: I don’t love traditional gyms. I’m a huge fan of plyometrics, HIIT

(high intensity interval training), tabata, interval running and yoga. I train fast and

hard focusing on speed, agility, and bursts of power. Small but mighty!

tank

Why do you keep playing: I absolutely love team sports and the idea of different

people coming together to achieve a common goal. The camaraderie is great. This

sport allows me to embrace my competitiveness and also pushes me physically and

mentally to be the best athlete I can be. It’s inclusive and revolutionary and amazing

to be a part of.

Favorite derby moment: Beating the Montreal Sexpos this season because it was

great to see our hard work as Dolly Rogers pay off, and playing in the Team Canada

tryout scrimmage because it was a great learning opportunity and I felt honoured to

be on the track with Canada’s finest.

When I’m not playing derby: I love my team and this game but think balance is

important for my mental game. When I’m not practicing, playing, coaching the

Bacon Pirates or training, I’m hiking in the woods with my wife and crazy boxer,

eating delicious food, spending time with my nieces, planning my next adventure,

and studying/training to become a firefighter.

Pre-game ritual: I like to sleep in a bit and then go on a nice long walk with my dog

and wife. It gets my legs going and clears my mind. I do some yoga and stretching

and take my time packing my gear bag (I have to have the right socks). I drink coffee,

lots of water, and usually eat a sandwich. I can get worked up quickly so I try to stay

calm and mellow at the rink. And I always put my jersey on at the last second – game

time!

What about gear: I’ve gone through a number of different skates. I have small feet

and tiny ankles and found it hard to find the perfect boot that wasn’t a hockey skate.

I skate on Antiks right now and I like them, but am still looking for that perfect boot.

I use Prodesigned kneepads,a Bauer hockey helmet, and the rest is Atom gear. As

Dawn Cherry knows, I’m still looking for the tiniest slimmest kneepad!

How has derby affected the way you live your life: At 31 I didn’t think I would be in

better shape than my 19 year old self. This game makes me want to be healthier and

stronger. I’m also learning how to curb my performance anger, something I never

addressed as a younger athlete, so I can be the best teammate I can be.

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

