PLAYER PROFILE: EDMONTON

image001

Photo courtesy of JAMMER LINE

Name and Number:

Hello! My name is Edmonton (or Ed, if you’re in a hurry) and my number is 780.

Does your name and/or number have a meaning?

When I transferred to CCDD from an Edmonton roller derby league, I was lucky enough to have my lovely teammates name me. They are obviously very creative.

I did get to choose my number, though. 780 is the area code for Edmonton. I am also very creative.

Who do you play for?

I play for the Dolly Rogers and am Assistant Captain of the Bacon Pirates.

Position:

Blocker and Pivot. I will jam if I must.

What I’m known for:

Being backwards on the track.

My eternal love of Kevin Bacon.

Why did you join roller derby?

I’d been involved in competitive sports when I was younger, but had taken time off during my undergrad. When I began to look for something to fill the large, sports-shaped hole in my life, I decided I wanted to play a team sport and definitely wanted the option to play competitively. I saw Whip It and thought that roller derby looked awesome (spoiler: it is), and joined a Fresh Meat program. 

Why keep playing?

Derby is the most complex sport I have ever played. Blockers play offense and defense at the same time, jamming is completely different than blocking, and strategies change on the fly. There are so many things happening on the track simultaneously that it takes an immense amount of concentration, and you have to be completely in the moment to do well. Derby is not only physically tough, but also mentally tough, and that’s what makes it so rewarding.

image002

Photo courtesy of BookTheBooth.ca

Favourite Moments:

– Winning the Fresh and the Furious tournament in my first season, in a super-close, come-from-behind victory.

– Winning our second House League Championship last year, in a super-close, come-from-behind victory.

– Playing with the Dolly Rogers against the Vixens this year, which showcased how far we have developed as players and as a team.

Final Thoughts?

If you are considering getting involved with derby, DO IT! Come watch a game, join Fresh Meat, talk to one of the players. Nobody grew up playing derby, so not knowing the rules of the sport or how to skate is completely normal. CCDD has become my extended family, and I am always so grateful that I took the plunge and decided to get involved.

Catch Edmonton in action Saturday, May 28, 2016!

If you can’t catch her in action but want to help her and her team achieve their goals of playing tough teams and representing roller derby in Canada, visit the Dolly Rogers’ GoFundMe page and help make their dreams a reality.

Leave a Reply

